top of page

Foods That Contain Gluten: What Are They?

Gluten is a set of proteins found in the plant tissue of wheat, barley, rye, malt, which when mixed with water, form a sticky dough, giving that elasticity to the dough, providing a good texture to chew. On the other hand, it becomes extremely dangerous for people who are intolerant to it, causing diarrhea, vomiting, abdominal pain. But when we think of gluten, the foods that come to mind are breads and pasta, but what are the other foods that contain these proteins in their composition? What can a person intolerant to him eat? So here we go: Foods that contain gluten! -Flours in general; - Wheat, rye, barley; -Beers, on account of malt; - Pancakes, waffles and crepes; - Biscuits and cookies; -Between others. Foods that may contain gluten: -Industrialized French fries; - Granola bars, when made with oats with gluten; - Tortillas, soups, etc. Cross contamination! Often food by itself does not contain gluten, but cross-contamination occurs through remnants on knives, tables and even in the air. So, if you live with someone who consumes foods with gluten, try to keep yours separate, on exclusive shelves and when used, sanitize the place well.


bottom of page